Latest News

(News - Jul/14)
EOAS ATSC Alumnus first across line in Clipper Round the World Race

After 11 months, 64,000 kilometres and six continents, the Henri Lloyd sailed across the finish line of the s longest yachting race in first place Saturday, largely because its skipper is also a weatherman. Canadian Eric Holden, 33, and his crew completed the final leg of the event, from Den Helder, the Netherlands, to London, England, to win the Clipper Round the World Race. Full Story.

(News - Jul 30/14)
MAGNET hits the road: 2nd annual workshop in California

The Multidisciplinary Applied Geochemistry Network recently held a volcanology field workshop in California (June 14-21), with 25 participants from McGill, University of Toronto, Universitè du Quèbec à Chicoutimi and UBC (including 18 students, postdocs, faculty and staff from EOAS). The group explored two spectacular field sites - the Long Valley caldera and the highlands of the Medicine Lake shield volcano - which provided an opportunity to compare two large volcanic systems with different tectonic settings, plumbing dynamics, eruptive histories and products.
Full report & photos -

(Award - Jul 10/14)
Tad Ulrych wins the CSEG Medal

The CSEG Medal is awarded to a member of the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysics who has made a long-standing contribution to the teaching , application or business development of exploration geophysics. Recognizing integrity as well as accomplishment, it is the highest award that the Society bestows. Full citation

(Award - Jul 9/14)
CGS Student Award Winners

Matthew Gray, Carlin Horkoff, Robert Kaplan and Jaime Loughlin won the 2014 Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS) Student Competition in the Undergraduate Report (Group) category for their report titled "Inperfecto Project Pre-Feasibility Level Slope Design" which they prepared as their final assignment for EOSC 445 (Engineering Design Project) in 2014/15. The award includes a monetary prize of $500 per person, framed certificates, one year's membership in the CGS and free registration for each of them for the annual CGS conference being held in Regina, Saskatchewan this year. Congratulations Matthew, Carlin, Robert and Jaime!

(News - Jul 4/14)
Weather Forecasts for Special Olympics Canada Summer Games

Prof. Roland Stull and his research team in the UBC Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences Dept are providing tailored weather forecasts for the Special Olympics Canada Summer Games, held at UBC during 6 - 12 July 2014. For more details see

(Award - Jul 2/14)
Corey Wall wins Early Career Researcher Award

Corey Wall, a PhD candidate in EOAS, was awarded the Early Career Researcher 2014 Award by the International Association of Geoanalysts for his work on developing a new uranium-lead zircon standard for ancient rocks in the Archean (older than 2.5 billion years). Corey presented his results on "Evaluation of the Stillwater Complex Anorthosite (ANII) as an Archean U-Pb Geochronology Standard" at the Goldschmidt Geochemistry meeting in Sacramento, California (June 9-13, 2014) and the award ceremony took place just prior to the last plenary session on Friday, June 13.

(Award - Jun 17/14)
Kathi Unglert wins Student award at the Seismological Society of America

PhD student Kathi Unglert won a Student Paper award for a talk she gave at the Seismological Society of America in April. Her talk was entitled: "Volcanic tremor and frequency gliding during the 2011 Kamoamoa eruption, Kilaueam Hawaii".

(Award - Jun 6/14)
Douw G. Steyn awarded Dr. Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology

For his career-long contributions to the understanding and mitigation of ozone pollution in the Lower Fraser Valley, British Columbia, Douw G. Steyn is the recipient of the Dr. Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology, awarded by the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society for "outstanding contribution to the application of meteorology in Canada".

(Award - Jun 6/14)
Nancy Soontiens award Tertia Hughes Prize

Nancy Soontiens, currently post-doc in EOAS was awarded one of two Tertia Hughes Memorial Prizes for Best Thesis. Her thesis: "Stratified flow over topography: Steady nonlinear waves, boundary layer instabilities and crater topography" was completed at Waterloo.

(Award - Jun 5/14)
Doug Polson wins President's Award

We are pleased to announce that Doug Polson, the technical supervisor in EOAS, has been awarded the UBC President's Staff award for creativity and innovation. The award, which includes a cash prize of $2,000, recognizes staff members who demonstrate outstanding achievement and excellence within the UBC Community.

(Award - Jun 3/14)
William W. Hsieh announced winner of John Patterson medal

At the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society's 2014 congress in Rimouski, the winner of the John Patterson medal for distinguished service in Meteorology was announced. The medal will be presented to William W. Hsieh in Vancouver in early fall by the assistant deputy minister for the Meteorological Service of Canada. See website for the Patterson medal.

(Award - Jun 3/14)
Paul J. Harrison announced winner of Timothy R. Parsons medal

At the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society's 2014 congress in Rimouski, the winner of the Timothy R. Parsons award for excellence in Ocean Sciences was announced. The medal will be presented to Paul J. Harrison in Vancouver by the assistant deputy minister for Fisheries and Oceans (DFO). This award was established by DFO to recognize a Canadian scientist for outstanding lifetime contributions to multidisciplinary facets of ocean sciences or for a recent exceptional achievement, while working within a Canadian institution. See website of the Parsons award.

Also see past front page entries from   2014,   2013,   2012,   2011

Colloquia & Seminars

Oct30 4:00 PM

Lynne Bell Sailing into Forensics: a reluctant voyager and stable isotopes as human tracers, or not.

Nov06 4:00 PM

Marek Stastna Simulating the interaction of internal waves with the bottom boundary layer

Nov13 1:00 PM

Charles Hannah Towards a Lagrangian view of the coastal ocean: adventures with a low cost satellite tracked drifter

Thesis Defenses

Nov03 11:00 AM


Weather Briefings

Oct31 12:15 PM

Maggie Campbell Weather Briefing - All are Welcome

Nov07 12:15 PM

Tim Chui Weather Briefing - All are Welcome

Welcome Prospective Students

eos eos2

The Department administers majors, honours and applied science programs that attract over 300 undergraduate and 160 graduate students. Our programs offer challenges to students at all levels. To learn more see;